A poem

Pais encounters an enchanted bit of virtual nature

Pais encounters an enchanted bit of virtual nature

I was exploring the other night  (I think it was an educational sim by the (US) National Institute of Health (NIH)) that had a little garden with touchable glowing lamp posts that delivered poems. I was quite touched to read from one of these the following poem by Richard Brautigan – I remember his book “Trout Fishing in America” – keep in mind that this poem was published in 1967… and think about how it resonnates in some ways with our virtual worlds. I am a bit put on edge to think of cybernetic nature, yet I am part of a society that is propelling itself full force into just such a probable future.  When I read Ray talking about the “singularity” when evolution leaps from the slow biological pace to that of technology, and what was once a biological human intelligence is surpassed by a cybernetic one… I hope there is indeed grace and harmony.

All Watched Over by Machines of Loving Grace

by Richard Brautigan

I like to think (and
the sooner the better!)
of a cybernetic meadow
where mammals and computers
live together in mutually
programming harmony
like pure water
touching clear sky.

I like to think
(right now, please!)
of a cybernetic forest
filled with pines and electronics
where deer stroll peacefully
past computers
as if they were flowers
with spinning blossoms.

I like to think
(it has to be!)
of a cybernetic ecology
where we are free of our labors
and joined back to nature,
returned to our mammal
brothers and sisters,
and all watched over
by machines of loving grace.

One response to “A poem

  1. Absolutely wonderful poem and a great post, Pais. I just happened to stumble upon it. I too appreciate Brautigan. One of my favorites by him is one he printed on handbills and left on cars and places around San Fran in 1967. (Kinda like finding them in lamposts, maybe.) It’s called Karma Repair Kit: Items 1 -4
    1.Get enough food to eat,
    and eat it.

    2.Find a place to sleep where it is quiet,
    and sleep there.

    3.Reduce intellectual activity and emotional noise
    until you arrive at the silence of yourself,
    and listen to it.

    4.

Leave a Reply

